Truffle Scrambled x Avocado

I’ve been crazy busy with internship/school/The Belly stuff/CSR competition, so I haven’t had time to make some proper breakfast for myself. Weekends call for some pamper-me time – and so I made some comforting toasts. Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
I was watching late night videos on YouTube yesterday, and I chanced upon Jamie’s Food Tube. And he mentioned three major kinds of scrambled – English, French and American. I usually do the American style cause it’s more convenient and I have this small non-stick pan which is perfect for such food. But I decided to use my heavy duty WMF to make the English scrambled today.Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
To prepare this comforting, warm breakfast, I must have perfectly toasted multigrain or good sourdough bread to have that hard crisp, which contrasts nicely with the soft, wobbly topping.
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Here’s what I do usually:
1. Make the perfect toast.
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
I didn’t have good sourdough, but I had some leftover multigrain bread. So I dressed it with basil and olive oil before popping it into the oven at about 180 degrees, for about 8 minutes. Or just take it out when the surface is brown or crispy enough to your liking.

2. Prepare the scrambled eggs. of your preference (English, French or American) 

Watch the above video. Then start drooling and cook. And sprinkle good sea salt and pepper to taste. Lastly, drizzle truffle oil over your scrambled eggs.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
I didn’t use butter because I ran out of it. But when I do have butter, I usually opt for Olive oil because it’s healthier. Also, usually I scramble with 2 eggs. But I was feeling greedy today, so I went with 3 eggs. Look at the above photo for an estimation of how much scrambled eggs you’ll probably get with 3 eggs. I didn’t get organic eggs (as emphasized by Jamie) but I think that’s what gives the scrambled eggs the luscious bright yellow. I shall try it next time.
3. Cut the avocados 
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
If you watch Jamie’s food shows like I do, you probably know how he removes the avocado seed – that is, to stuck your knife to the seed, then give it a twist and the seed will come out gracefully. Then cut the avocados vertically.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Sprinkle with good sea salt and pepper to taste.
Then serve and enjoy.
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
It’s as simple as that. I usually like having slow breakfasts like this. And today I shared my eggs with my girls (i.e my nieces) and they seem to like it too. I’m trying to make other combos for my toasts, but this is definitely one of my favourite, favourite combinations because it’s relatively easy to make, healthy and doesn’t burn a hole in your pocket. Eating eggs and avocados outside can easily cost a bomb these days – not to mention that it’s difficult to get fresh and well made eggs.

xx,
Sha

Leave a comment